top of page

JK Rowling - Will You Marry Me?

One of the first books I ever read start to finish was a Hardy Boy Mystery. Our school library had every novel in the series and I finished each one of them. When I was done with the Hardy Boys I set my attention on Nancy Drew and read what we had. I was mocked a bit for reading a girl’s book but didn’t care. I liked mysteries and since neither of the Susan’s in my Grade Four class would talk to me, I gave my young attention to the wild and crazy Nancy Drew.

From that time period until the late nineties, I cannot recall any series of books that were oriented towards children; maybe because I had passed the age but probably because no one had written anything that kids would line up for. It was basically a dry period of three decades for novels but a boon for Archie comics and MAD Magazine. The two questions that seeped into many teenager conversations were “Betty or Veronica?” or “What me worry?” It was obviously not the most impressive era of children literature.

And then Harry Potter happened.

There wasn’t a breeze of excitement for this novel; it was more a hurricane that absolutely rocked the world of literature. Kids lined up at midnight for new releases, downing Slushie after Slushie to stay awake before the mad rush into their local bookstore and/or bathroom. They turned away from their laptops and video games so they could read about their magical heroes. YouTube was quiet for weeks after each publication; wars were halted, dogs and cats lived in harmony…ok maybe not but you get the picture.

I don’t know what the JK in JK Rowling stands for. I guess I could actually open a browser and find out but I’m getting old and much too lazy. She is a quiet beauty in my opinion and has handled her fame with an incredible amount of grace. I would consider her for future Queen of England if Kate Middleton wasn’t so damn appealing. What is even more striking about JK is her tenacity. She is a success story similar to Anthony Robbins. He washed plates in a bathtub (something that never made any sense to me) and JK wrote stories on napkins. I imagine it would have taken approximately 3,000 napkins to complete the first novel so I hope she planted a tree in her garden as some form of reciprocity. Nonetheless, she had a vision and she pulled it off.

JK Rowling made reading fun again for millions of kids; there is no doubt about this. She also opened the door for hundreds of new authors to ply their trade in the tweenie and teenager age group; a group that time had once forgotten. For that JK, I thank you.

Call me, we’ll do lunch.


More Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Tag Cloud
No tags yet.
bottom of page